New Year, New Me?

Well, not exactly. Most problems, you can’t just suddenly change – otherwise, they wouldn’t even be that much of a problem. But, I do plan on making positive changes. Small ones, but changes nonetheless. Do I think I’m going to be able to achieve them all? With my mentality? No, but I can try. That’s a feat in itself. I’ve been so burnt out for the past couple of months, and I don’t want that to manifest itself into the whole year. 2017 will be a good year for me. As good as I can make it (and, yes, that includes going to therapy).

1. Be more sociable
Mainly? Texting people first. Yeah. Not all the time, mind you, but I want to be the one to initiate things every now and then. The person who tries to organise nights. This, of course, would mean meeting people to initiate things with – which leads on to something else I’d like to try, which is exploring new places. Trying a different pub or venue, going to more events, that sort of thing. I’m excited. I knew I wasn’t going to meet all my ‘friends for life’ through university. Maybe Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar will be the place?

2. Improve my cooking
I only really cook three things regularly and one of them is pizza, which doesn’t really count if I’m just warming it up. It’s one of the things I’m going to learn to cook, however; I have a pizza stone, recipe book, and no real excuses, other than laziness and lack of motivation. More time-consuming things will be done, too – making things from scratch, things which need baking, giving Alex and myself a more varied, and healthier diet. And cakes. I love making cakes…

3. Take better care of myself
I am notorious for only giving myself a proper, cleansing bath when I have an event lined up. This year, I’d like to put a stop to that. No more quick showers and half-arsed makeup, I’m going to make myself feel good every day. Why? Because, when I like how I look, I feel so much better. It improves my confidence, which is the exact thing I need to make number 1 achievable. As well as this? I’m going to wear nice outfits which make me feel good and powerful. No more giving in to self-consciousness – when I have a good outfit, I feel like the queen of the world.

4. Document everything good
Anyone who follows me on Instagram knows I do this a lot, in all honesty, but I want to do it even more. Fun day out? A cool piece of street art? A particularly nice view of the beach? All of it, no matter how minor, documented and recorded, so I can look back on the good times in years to come. This means, also, that I’m going to be updating this blog more – but not just with lifestyle, also with more serious things (I’m planning a piece on the harmful effects of toxic masculinity on men with learning difficulties, for instance), and maybe, if I get the confidence, nice outfits both on myself and other people. But that’s probably a bit too ambitious. Maybe save that one for 2018…

5. Create, learn, do the things I love
Drawing, writing, hula hoop, cooking, arts and crafts, music, you name it, if it’s a hobby of mine, I hope to do it more often, and I hope to see an improvement, even just within my own confidence regarding it. Hula hooping is a big one – I’ve already seen a massive improvement in myself since the start of term, and it’s something I’m endlessly thrilled about! I have another class booked for January, this time about lower body hooping, and it’s one of the things I’m looking forward to the most about January.

6. Take university more seriously
I know, I know, I should be doing this anyway. I’m guilty of a fairly throwaway attitude towards work and reading at the moment, and I need to stop that. I want to do well on this course. I want to get a First, because I know I have the ability.

Honestly? I think that’s enough. I think it encompasses lots of little things, healthier changes and ways to make myself have a much more positive 2017.

And, hopefully, stop me being so lazy with this blog…

Published by

Zara Robinson

Twenty-year-old trainee teacher, hippie and weird jewellery collector living in Brighton.

Leave a Reply

